RPO Store

Haydn: Mass In Time Of War (Paukenmesse) and Nelson Mass


A brand new recording of Haydn's Nelson Mass and Mass In Time of War, performed by the combined forces of the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and City of London Choir, conducted by Hilary Davan Wetton.

This recording features the first two much-loved masses within the Mozart and Haydn series of six concerts at Cadogan Hall.

"Davan Wetton the master of the music, energising it, caring for it while ensuring strength of purpose… The City Of London Choir was outstanding – honed and committed – the RPO consistently neat and stylish." Classical Source (Haydn concert series)

‘Refreshing to hear Haydn on modern instruments – fast movements take splendid flight.’ – BBC Music Magazine, March 2017

Read more about our new choral recording...


Hilary Davan Wetton Conductor
Rachel Nicholls, Grace Davidson, Anna Harvey, Mark Wilde and Ashley Riches Vocalists
City of London Choir
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Track listing

Mass In Time Of War (Missa in tempore belli – 'Paukenmesse', Hob. XXII:9)
1. Kyrie 4:18
2. Gloria: Gloria in excelsis Deo 3:07
3. Qui tollis peccata mundi 6:07
4. Quoniam tu solus sanctus 2:28
5. Credo: Credo in unum Deum 1:15
6. Et incarnatus est 4:01
7. Et resurrexit 4:59
8. Sanctus 2:13
9. Benedictus 6:45
10. Agnus Dei 5:40

'Nelson Mass' (Missa in Angustiis, Hob. XXII:11)
11. Kyrie 4:30
12. Gloria: Gloria in excelsis Deo 3:38
13. Qui tollis peccata mundi 4:03
14. Quoniam tu solus sanctus 2:43
15. Credo: Credo in unum Deum 1:31
16. Et incarnatus est 3:57
17. Et resurrexit 3:48
18. Sanctus 2:20
19. Benedictus 7:27
20. Agnus Dei 6:01

Related products

  • RPO on Twitter
  • RPO on Facebook
  • RPO on YouTube
  • RPO on Instagram