RPO Store

Mendelssohn & Beethoven Violin Concertos


Following their acclaimed recording with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, entitled Kletzki, Szymanowski & Lutosławski: Music for Violin and Orchestra (2014), celebrated violinist Robert Davidovici and Permanent Associate Conductor Grzegorz Nowak reunite for this recording of Mendelssohn and Beethoven concertos.

'Of course, it goes without saying that both concerti stand on their own merits at the very pinnacle of the violin concerti repertoire, remaining favourites of the concert hall without needing reinforcement from one another, yet it is fascinating to see Mendelssohn, musically, tipping his hat to Beethoven and his great Violin Concerto.' (Robert Davidovici)


Grzegorz Nowak Conductor
Robert Davidovici Violin
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Track listing

MENDELSSOHN Violin Concerto in E minor, Op.64
1. Allegro molto appassionato
2. Andante
3. Allegretto non troppo - Allegro molto vivace 

BEETHOVEN Violin Concerto in D major, Op.61 
4. Allegro ma non troppo 
5. Larghetto
6. Rondo: Allegro

Related products

  • RPO on Twitter
  • RPO on Facebook
  • RPO on YouTube
  • RPO on Instagram